Madrid!!

Hi Everyone!!

So sorry I haven’t posted in such a long time now. The internet in Chile was far from the best and we only really had one small laptop to share between the 17 of us. BUT, now that I’m in Madrid, in a pretty big hostel in Sol, I have excellent internet and I should be able to catch up.

Here I am on the other side of the world all by myself.  To be honest it’s pretty terrifying. I don’t know anyone here. Like no one at all. The only thing keeping me fairly sane is Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (I’m pretty sure this is the tattoo that Simon has on his arm, that’s what made me remember it)

It’s so comforting knowing that God is totally in control no matter where we are. Knowing that he is so much bigger than us. By no means am I expecting this to be easy but I’m so excited to be a part of God plan and to be used where ever he needs me!

Madrid is pretty amazing though. The plane flew in at like 6am (local time) so the first time I saw the actual city was while I walked out of the Metro stop in the middle of Sol. Fortunately I found a map of where I was meant to get to and managed to work out my way to get here pretty quickly and by only using 3 different trains. I was pretty proud of myself actually. I’m pretty surprised that South America had way more English then there is here. The guys at the hostel speak English but all the signs and everything definitely aren’t making it easy for me.

The plane trip was very not exciting. Iberia would definitely not be my first choice in the future… There were sadly no TV’s for the 12 hour flight and the plane made far to many highly unsettling noises. However, it seemed like many others had also had a similarly bad experience in the past and the plane was close to empty. This meant that people used the middle 4 seats as a bed and it seemed like most people had a pretty good sleep.

Sol is pretty amazing. Type in “Sol Madrid” into google images and it looks pretty much exactly like that haha (typing in “Sol” will just get you pictures of the sun, i checked). I went for a bit of a walk around the place this morning but I’ve been in the hostel catching up with everything mostly. The hostel runs free city tours so I’m pretty keen to do that tomorrow.

I don’t think I’m going to catch up on the days in SA I missed… The groups blog was pretty good for it so phcssa2011.blogspot.com will hopefully fill in the blanks! I did fill in the other posts I said I would though

Much Love,

Ben

2 thoughts on “Madrid!!

  1. Meg

    So great to hear that you’ve made it safely and are enjoying the city! Hope you aren’t going through too much withdrawal, although we definitely were sad when we realized we were only 16 traveling home!
    Praying for you.
    Megs and Simon

  2. Hi Ben, Thanks for letting us know you have arrived safely! It sure will be different for you traveling on your own. Hope you meet some other backpackers and see some sights with them.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

