Hunger

Stop and think about this, if God offered you anything, what would you want?

This question tells me a lot about myself. What are the first things that come to my head? Sadly, its easy for me to think about a house, a new motorbike or a job that I love, before I think about a more intimate prayer life etc. I constantly forget how good God is. My heart can be so fickle.

For me this is a wake up call to think about, what do I love? While I know the “right” answers, do my actions match them?

Matt Chandler said something ages ago that has stuck with me. “Jesus talks about money often, and it’s never, ever about money.” Jesus talks about money because where our money goes reveals what we love.

Subconsciously, I think that we all simply pursue what we love – comfort, popularity, wealth, entertainment.

I probably talk a lot about satisfaction. I think it’s one of the most unifying things that make us human. It’s built into our design to want. And I think we generally love the things that we think will bring us satisfaction (I think this touches on a bigger topic)

I want to be the kind of person that has found satisfaction. More than anything, I think that I have looked for it in people. It has led to a pretty complicated relationship that I have with human praise. On one hand it can lift my spirits and encourage me deeply – from time to time I know that an encouraging word has helped me know who I am and how God sees me. But on the other hand, when I find my satisfaction in it, it feeds my pride, and ultimately leaves me feeling emptier than before. When I hear that someone thought I did something well, and I start to forget that my worth comes from nothing that I can achieve, it’s dangerous.

Sometimes I find my satisfaction in God and sometimes I look for it in people.

Sometimes I’m hungry for God and sometimes I’m not.

I think I’m learning about the importance of discipline – creating consistent habits that draw me back to God.

Matthew 4:4 Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God

(Click here for More Bible)

I know I quote a lot of Piper, but this is so good:

“The greatest enemy of hunger for God is not poison but apple pie. It is not the banquet of the wicked that dulls our appetite for heaven, but endless nibbling at the table of the world. It is not the X-rated video, but the prime-time dribble of triviality we drink in every night … If you don’t feel strong desires for the manifestation of the glory of God, it is not because you have drunk deeply and are satisfied. It is because you have nibbled so long at the table of the world. Your soul is stuffed with small things, and there is no room for the great.”

How much do we allow ourselves to be distracted by the mundane. Do we get caught up in our consumerist culture that points us to world and away from God?

Here’s just a little more from C.S Lewis:

“God made us: invented us as a man invents an engine. A car is made to run on petrol, and it would not run properly on anything else. Now God designed the human machine to run on Himself. He Himself is the fuel our spirits were designed to burn, or the food our spirits were designed to feed on. There is no other. That is why it is just no good asking God to make us happy in our own way without bothering about religion. God cannot give us a happiness and peace apart from Himself, because it is not there.”

You are hungry. Don’t fill up on candy that tastes sweet for a moment and leaves you feeling sick. God has a banquet for you to enjoy

 

My thoughts after writing all of this:

  • Where do I choose to spend my time/money/effort?
  • What feeds my soul, what am I using to fill my petrol tank? TV? Facebook?
  • Are there obvious things that I use to numb my hunger? (Entertainment is a huge one for me)
  • What are regular disciplines that would draw me back to God again and again?
  • Do I experience God’s goodness and presence? Do I live with joy? Do I want it? What am I willing/not willing to change?
  • What are the other things that block our hunger for God? Past wounding? Walls?
  • Have you ever tasted Gods satisfaction?

 

P.S While this has been a key part in my journey, I know there is sooo much more to it, and I’d love to hear your thoughts/experiences!

2 thoughts on “Hunger

  1. Pingback: Practical tools for Self-Awareness – Ben Merrick

  2. Pingback: You Are What You Eat – Ben Merrick

Leave a Reply

