I’ve always wanted super powers

This post is a little different to what I’ve been posting lately, if you’re interested with my reflections on writing this, I wrote a post on it. I hope this random thought of mine is as encouraging and challenging to you as it’s been to me.

Always wanting more

As a kid (and maybe an adult…), I’ve always wanted to be able to fly, to read minds, to move objects with my mind. Geez, if I was able to teleport, life would be amazing.

Funnily enough, I’ve been wondering, if we all had superpowers, would we even notice them? If we all grew up being able to fly, we wouldn’t even think about how amazing it is. Would we be excited about it?

While that seems like a strange reality, I think it’s exactly like how we live now. What incredible super powers do we have that we don’t even realise? What would you wish for if you couldn’t talk? If you couldn’t see?

Humans are incredible, but I know I have so much that I take for granted. Today is a chance to find simple joy in your ability to run, to learn, or to simply help another person. Instead of focusing on more, maybe we can both slow down and celebrate what we have.

Words

Specifically for me, I am starting to realise how powerful words can be. They can do a lot more than prevent crime or get me to work 15 minutes faster. Words can change how we see the world.

I’m sure you can think of how a careless word has cut you down, or an encouraging word has made your day. Today is a new opportunity, instead of floating by, living the same old day after day, we can give words of life!

Thankfulness

While I slow down and see the amazing potential of humanity, I realise how good our creator is.

James 1:17 “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights.”

Every good thing we have been given is a gift. That thought alone is huge for me.

Colossians 3:17 “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

 

I’m learning:

  • I already have better “superpowers” than I’ve ever wanted.
  • It’s easy to waste the incredible things we have.
  • I have daily opportunities to change the world.
  • Every good thing we have been given is a gift.
One thought on “I’ve always wanted super powers

  1. Pingback: Blog reflections vol 1 – Ben Merrick

Leave a Reply

